Appreciation.

In this day and age, we get so wrapped up in our daily hectic routines that a lot of times we forget to take a step back to breathe, be thankful, and appreciate.

I’ve been thinking about “appreciation” for a few weeks now. There are so many things in life to be thankful for (and a lot of them go hand-in-hand) but I’ve narrowed my list down to 3: God, family, and friends.

I’m thankful for God. Why? Obviously for endless reasons (I could start to write a list but subhanAllah I’d probably die before that is ever even 1/∞ finished), but this reason is by far my favorite. Everything happens by the will of Allah (swt). We have our beautiful lives because of Him. Sometimes things happen to us and we wonder why? Why me? What did I do to deserve this? (heh, yes because we are soooo special and nothing bad must happen to us *sarcasm*) You may have not done anything to deserve what you are going through and that is OKAY. A reminder that Allah (swt) would never ever put you through something He did not think you were able to overcome. I know it’s easier said than done, but take it as a blessing. God thought that YOU were strong enough. He choose you. YOU are strong. And that test that you are going through… will teach you something and you will come out of the situation even stronger. Of course, it is up to us at this point to move forward and use these tests to benefit ourselves. I love this concept and I am thankful for all that He constantly blesses us with.

I am thankful for my family. I am thankful for my parents and my brothers for always being there. For catching me when I fall. For giving me far more than I could ever ask for. For constantly teaching me right from wrong. For putting up with me. For loving me unconditionally. For always wanting the best for me. For being real. For being genuine. For being the only ones who can make me smile no matter the situation. For being so forgiving. For believing. For being there at my worst. For being there at my best. For everything I have not mentioned. Thank you. I love you.

I am thankful for my beautiful friends. The friends who are always there for me despite everything. The ones that push me to do better. The ones that motivate me. The ones that listen when I talk too much. The ones that let my cry on their shoulder. The ones that give me the same amazing advice when I ask a million and a half times. The ones that push me closer to my deen. The ones that put up with my annoying and obnoxious self. The ones that force me to have fun when all I want to do is wallow. The ones that make me laugh until I feel like I have abs. You do not go unnoticed, I love you each and every one of you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

